Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.

British Zeolite Association

The British Zeolite Association promotes zeolite and ordered nanoporous materials science in the UK. It does this through its annual research conference, which brings academic and industrial scientists together to discuss the latest developments in the field, as well as by its support for research students, its summer research bursaries for under-graduate students and other educational programmes and the Founders' Award, an annual prize for the best PhD student working in the area of micro- or mesoporous scienceand the Barrer Award, which is awarded every three years for the meritorious recent pure or applied work in the field of porous inorganic materials.

These pages provide an overview of the various activities of the BZA, together with news and information on upcoming events, general information about zeolites and some useful links.

BZA Annual Meeting 2023 Manchester, UK

On behalf of the British Zeolite Association (BZA) annual meeting Organising Committee, we warmly invite you to attend the annual BZA Conference in Manchester, 3rd - 5th April 2023. This will be a great opportunity to gather and celebrate the successes and achievements of colleagues and students in the fields of porous materials, and their applications in both academia and industry. The general themes of the 2023 BZA conference include all aspects of porous materials research such as the latest fundamental research and their many emerging applications for answering Net Zero challenges. Let us therefore take the opportunity to exchange experiences and new ideas, and to grow the community. We look forward to welcoming you to Manchester in April 2023!

A detailed programme and timetable may be found here. The conference booklet may be found here.

The welcome and registration will take place in the University of Manchester Schuster Building from 2 pm - 4:30 pm on April 3rd after which the opening talks will begin.

We are delighted to announce our five plenary Speakers:

  •  Professor Ross Forgan, University of Glasgow (United Kingdom)
  • Professor Nikolay Kosinov, Eindhoven University of Technology (Netherlands)
  •  Professor Michiel Dusselier, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium)
  • Dr Andrei-Nicolae Parvulescu, BASF (Germany)
Diamond Sponsored Keynote Speaker:
  •  Dr Hamish Hei-Man Yeung University of Birmingham (United Kingdom)

Please see the following information on venues, travel and accommodation:

Conference Venue:

Conference Dinner:

  • Manchester Museum (19:00-23:00 on 4th April 2023), Oxford Road, The University of Manchester, M13 9PL


  • Rail: Manchester Piccadilly and Manchester Oxford station (you can walk from these stations to the hotels below, or take taxi for a short ride)
  • Air: Manchester Airport (then either take a taxi to your hotel or train to Manchester Piccadilly and Manchester Oxford station
  • Drive and car parking: check car parking in your hotel, or use Car Park Aquatics Centre (APCOA), Booth Street East, Manchester, M13 9SS (walking distance to the conference venue)

Hotel options (walking distance to the venue):
  • Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street (budget) 
  • Hyatt Regency Manchester (mid-range) 
  • Premier Inn Manchester City Centre (Princess Street) hotel (budget) 
  • Pendulum Hotel (budget)  
  • Maldron Hotel Manchester City Centre (budget) 
  • Kimpton Clocktower Hotel (luxury) 

  • £200 for students
  • £350 standard registration

All registration fees include the conference lunches, coffee breaks, conference dinner and drink receptions during the conference. Note: accommodation during conference is not included.

BZA Annual Meeting 2023 Organisation Committee: 

  • Xiaolei Fan, University of Manchester 
  • Mike W Anderson, University of Manchester 
  • Aidan M Doyle, Manchester Metropolitan University 
  • Lubomira Tosheva-Jivkova, Manchester Metropolitan University 
  • Russell Taylor, Durham University 
  • Alexander O'Malley, University of Bath 
  • Alessandro Turrina, Johnson Matthey

 We are extremely grateful to our current sponsors:




BZA Conference 2023
The BZA annual meeting will take place in Manchester, UK from April 3rd-5th, 2023. Link to conference page to be released shortly.

Prof. John Meurig Thomas Obituary 
We regret to announce the passing of Professor Sir John Meurig Thomas who was a very eminent scientist who contributed enormously to the field of nanoporous materials.                                                                                                 
Prof. Paul Wright and Prof. Michael Anderson have written the attached obituary to remember John.